New Case Study: Web design and development for Haven, shipped at startup speed Read more about Web design and development for Haven, shipped at startup speed

Design studios for venture-backed startups

Eight studios, checked . We're one of them, listed alphabetically like the rest.

DirectoryBy Husain Ujjainwala

A design studio for venture-backed startups designs the product, website and brand for a company that has raised institutional money and has a roadmap to show for it. Where the studios below state a price, it starts at $2,500 for a project (Synced) or $10,000 a month for a flat plan (Lived In Design), and Ramotion states a $50,000 minimum.

You closed the round. Now there's a board meeting, a hiring plan and a roadmap that promised a redesign by next quarter. Design hasn't kept up with the story you told investors. More money doesn't mean you need more design. It means you have a date.

We work with venture-backed startups too, so this list isn't ranked. Studios are in alphabetical order, us included, and nobody paid to be on it.

How we picked

A studio made the list if:

  • its own site names venture-backed or funded startups, or Series A and later, as its clients
  • it designs a product, a website or a brand
  • it says how you buy: a project, a monthly plan or a quote
  • it's a studio, not a solo freelancer

We left out freelancers, studios that name no funding stage and studios that say only "startups". Prices, ratings and client names come from each studio's own site or Clutch profile.

The eight studios at a glance

Two of the eight publish a price: Lived In Design and Synced. Ramotion states a $50,000 minimum on its site, and Fundabl Design, GRAFIT and Parallel set minimums on Clutch ($5,000+, $25,000+ and $10,000+). Hexcode and Phenomenon Studio publish none.

Design studios for venture-backed startups, in alphabetical order, not ranked
StudioBasedBest forPrice signal (USD)
Fundabl DesignSan FranciscoFundraising decks, brand and a Webflow siteClutch minimum $5,000+, $150 to $199/hr
GRAFITWarsaw, PolandWeb, brand and growth work in WebflowClutch minimum $25,000+, $100 to $149/hr
Hexcode (us)Indore, IndiaBrand, site and product for funded teamsNot published
Lived In DesignNot statedA flat $10,000 a month design team$10,000/mo flat
ParallelSan Francisco and BangaloreTeams from seed to Series B and beyondClutch minimum $10,000+, $50 to $99/hr
Phenomenon StudioTallinn, Lugano and Dover (USA)Healthtech, edtech and SaaS product designNot published
RamotionSan Francisco, Los Angeles and New York, per its footerA larger studio for Series A and B platformsMinimum $50,000 per project, $150 to $199/hr
SyncedNot stated on its siteProject sprints, then a subscriptionProjects from $2,500, Brand Sprint $4,000, subscription $5,990/mo

The numbers behind it

Design studios for venture-backed startups, in alphabetical order, not ranked, ratings and clients
StudioClutchNamed clients
Fundabl Design4.8 (3 reviews)Atronous, Basic Capital, Mutiny, New Lantern
GRAFIT5.0 (28 reviews)Callstack, Clay, Gentrace, Viktor
Hexcode (us)Profile, no reviews yetServal, LlamaIndex, Riveter (YC F24), Haven, Drizz, Jooba
Lived In DesignNo profile foundKnoetic, Moz, HoverAir, XBuild, Sparkplug
Parallel4.8UrbanPiper, Enchanting Travels, Inhouse
Phenomenon Studio5.0 (54 reviews)Wisdom, Nomupay, Ready Player Fit
RamotionProfile exists, no rating shownNetflix, Stripe, Descript, Flatfile
SyncedNot checkedCluely, drae.ai, Interview Coder, Carlinker

Figures from each studio's own site or Clutch profile, checked . "/mo" is a monthly fee. "Clutch minimum" is the minimum project size a studio sets on Clutch, not a quote. Named clients are ones the studio names on its own site.

Notes on each studio

Fundabl Design

Based in San Francisco, per its site. It calls itself the fundraising design partner and lists Series A, Series B and growth rounds among the stages it serves. It sells a Deck Sprint, two brand launch packages and a design subscription that covers decks, website design and Webflow development. It publishes no price. Clutch shows a $5,000+ minimum project size and 4.8 from 3 reviews. Its case studies cite Series A rounds for New Lantern and Basic Capital.

Good fit if: you're raising a Series A and want the deck, brand and site done by one small team.
Not a fit if: you want product design, which its packages don't list.

GRAFIT

A Warsaw agency, and a Webflow Enterprise Partner by its own site. It says its clients are backed by First Round, Sequoia and Y Combinator, and its services span web design, branding, motion and product video, Webflow development, CRO and SEO. It publishes no price. Clutch shows 5.0 from 28 reviews, a $25,000+ minimum project size and an Austin office as well as Warsaw.

Good fit if: you want an enterprise Webflow partner that also does growth work like CRO and SEO.
Not a fit if: your budget is well under its $25,000+ Clutch minimum.

Hexcode (us)

A 15-person studio in Indore, founded in 2020, with US overlap until 1pm PT. We work with startups from seed to Series B, and our clients page shows who backs them: Sequoia and Redpoint for Serval, Norwest and Greylock for LlamaIndex, and a16z for Haven. We run brand, website and product design in two-week sprints with a demo each Friday. We don't publish a price and have no Clutch reviews yet. See who we work with

Good fit if: you want one senior team across brand, site and product while you grow past the next round.
Not a fit if: you need a price and a Clutch rating before the first call.

Lived In Design

Its headline is design partner for funded startups, and it says a small senior team embeds with them. Its FAQ names B2B AI SaaS companies as its focus. It charges a flat $10,000 a month, and its page estimates $300K+ to hire a full-time designer and PM instead. It states no location. We found no Clutch profile.

Good fit if: you want a fixed monthly price for a senior designer and PM pod.
Not a fit if: you're not building B2B AI SaaS, which its FAQ names as its focus.

Parallel

Offices in San Francisco and Bangalore, per its site. Its homepage sorts its work into three stages: seed to Series A, Series B and beyond, and new bets inside big companies. It describes forward-deployed design and engineering teams and publishes no price. Its Clutch profile shows a $10,000+ minimum project size and a 4.8 rating.

Good fit if: you're past seed and want a team that can stay with you through Series B.

Phenomenon Studio

Offices in Tallinn, Lugano and Dover. Its homepage says it works with healthtech, edtech and SaaS teams, and with venture-backed startups and established market leaders alike. It says clients backed by YC, Techstars, a16z and others have raised $500M+. It publishes no price. Clutch shows 5.0 from 54 reviews, against 52 on its homepage.

Good fit if: you build in healthtech, edtech or SaaS and want a team that has worked in those sectors.

Ramotion

Offices in San Francisco, Los Angeles and New York. Its startup UI/UX page says its pricing is tailored for venture-backed startups and growth-stage companies, and lists SaaS UX/UI as best for Series A and Series B software platforms. It states a $50,000 minimum per project and $150 to $199 an hour, with a typical full product engagement at $80,000 to $200,000+. It says its clients have secured over $1 billion in venture funding.

Good fit if: you've raised a Series A or B and want a larger studio with a long client list.
Not a fit if: your budget is under $50,000.

Synced

Its homepage says it is for pre-seed tech startups and above, with pre-seed founders buying projects and Series A to C growth teams taking the subscription. Projects start at $2,500, a Brand Sprint is $4,000, Website Launch is from $4,500 and the design subscription is $5,990 a month. It states no location, and we haven't checked its Clutch profile.

Good fit if: you're at Series A or later and want a design subscription you can start and stop.

How much studio do you need after a round?

Match the studio to the job, not to the size of the round. Ramotion states a $50,000 minimum per project, Lived In Design charges a flat $10,000 a month and Synced sells projects from $2,500. A bigger round doesn't change what you need first: something your next investor update can point at.

How much studio do you need after a round?
Where you areWhat fitsWatch for
Just closed a seed or Series AA short project on the site or one product flowRedesigning everything before you have usage
A design lead, but no capacityA monthly plan or an embedded teamA team that works outside your standups
Preparing for a Series BA product and brand pass that matches your storyA site that claims more than the product does
Several products or teamsA larger studio with a design systemPaying for process you won't use

Six questions to ask before you sign

  1. Which clients at my stage can I speak to, and who backs them?
  2. Who works on my account, and are they online for part of my day?
  3. What do the first four weeks produce, and what do I own at the end?
  4. Can I scale the team up or down as the roadmap changes?
  5. What would you not design yet, given where we are?
  6. How do you work with our in-house designers and engineers?

Questions

How much does a design studio cost for a venture-backed startup?

Published figures on this list start at $2,500 for a Synced project and $10,000 a month for Lived In Design's flat plan. Synced's subscription is $5,990 a month, Ramotion states a $50,000 minimum per project, and Fundabl Design, GRAFIT and Parallel set Clutch minimums of $5,000+, $25,000+ and $10,000+.

Should a funded startup hire a studio or a first designer?

A studio suits a defined push, like a redesign before a launch, and a hire suits ongoing ownership. Lived In Design's page estimates $300K+ to hire a designer and a PM full-time, against its flat $10,000 a month. Synced says Series A to C growth teams take its subscription.

Do studios work with Series A and B startups, or only seed?

Several here name later stages. Ramotion lists SaaS UX/UI as best for Series A and Series B platforms, Fundabl Design lists Series A, Series B and growth rounds, and Parallel groups Series B and beyond as a stage. Synced says Series A to C teams take its subscription.

Can one studio cover brand, website and product?

Some can. Hexcode runs brand, website and product design, Fundabl Design covers decks, brand and web, and GRAFIT covers web, branding and product video. Ramotion lists app design and branding among its services.

Can I start small before committing to a long engagement?

Yes, a few let you. Synced sells a two-week Brand Sprint at $4,000, and Hexcode works in two-week sprints. Lived In Design is a flat monthly fee, and Synced's subscription can be paused or cancelled any month.

Why isn't this list ranked?

Because we're on it. Ranking a list we compete in would tell you more about us than about the studios. So it's alphabetical, with the facts we could check.

Spotted something wrong? Email shabbir@hexcode.design with a link and we'll fix it.

Closed the round and the clock is running?

Thirty minutes, no deck. Tell us what the next investor update has to show and we'll tell you what's worth designing first, even if the answer is one of the other seven.

Book a call